MSRC News Details

Attendees Announced for Pre-Conference Research Training Day at AAS 2015

The Military Suicide Research Consortium (MSRC) co-Directors, Drs. Gutierrez and Joiner, are pleased to announce the partcipants of the third annual MSRC pre-conference research training day. The MSRC pre-conference research training day is to be held Wednesday, April 15th prior to the 2015 American Association of Suicidology (AAS) conference, in Atlanta, GA.

Places were available for students or research fellows across levels of training (graduate to post-doctoral). The purpose of the training day is to provide those with an interest in developing their skills as military/Veteran suicide researchers with intensive training to move a specific relevant project forward.

A top-notch faculty will provide the didactic sessions and serve as mentors. In addition to Drs. Gutierrez and Joiner, faculty will include :

  • Dr. Marjan Holloway
  • Dr. Jill Holm-Denoma
  • Dr. Tracy Witte
  • Dr. Kelly Cukrowicz
  • Dr. Courtney Bagge
  • Dr. Bridget Matarazzo
  • Dr. Michael Anestis
  • Dr. Kate Comtois
  • Dr. Jessica Ribeiro
  • Ms. Jetta Hanson
  • Ms. Erin Poindexter
  • Ms. Sarah Victor
  • Ms. Caroline Silva

The core features of the Research Training Day Workshop include a) a didactic session including a presentation on grant writing, grants mechanisms, data analysis, and research ethics; b) small group meetings of mentors and fellows to discuss fellows’ grant applications, research papers, and career issues; c) and a networking luncheon. 

30 researchers will be attending the training day, selected from institutions across the country and covering a diverse range of specific interests.

Jami Gauthier
Auburn University

Kelly Zuromski
Auburn University

Ian Cero
Auburn University

Caitlin Williams
Auburn University

Katheryn Ryan
Canandaigua VAMC

Catherine Glenn
Harvard University

Evan Kleiman
Harvard University

Katrina Speed
Mississippi State University

Victoria O'Keefe
Oklahoma State University

Raymond Tucker
Oklahoma State University

Ashley Cole
Oklahoma State University 

Mauricio Zumba
Pacific University

Lauren Khazem
The University of Southern Mississippi

Stacy Tylor
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Marcus VanSickle
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Claire Houtsma
University of Southern Mississippi

Andrea Wolfe
University of Utah

Erika Roberge
University of Utah

Brianna Turner
University of Washington Medical Center

Jonathan Green
VA Boston Healthcare System

Danielle Jahn
VA Capitol Health Care Network (VISN 5) Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center

Noelle Smith
VA Connecticut - National Center for PTSD

Lisham Ashrafioun
VISN 2 Center of Excellence for Suicide Prevention

Todd Bishop
VISN 2 Center of Excellence for Suicide Prevention, Canandaigua VAMC

Keyne Law
The University of Southern Mississippi

Matthew Podlogar
Florida State University

Melanie Hom
Florida State University

Brian Albanese
Florida State University

Matthew Michaels
Florida State University

Ian Stanley
Florida State University (Department of Psychology)