MSRC News Details

Attendees Announced for Pre-Conference Research Training Day at AAS 2016

The Military Suicide Research Consortium (MSRC) co-Directors, Drs. Gutierrez and Joiner, are pleased to announce the partcipants of the fourth annual MSRC pre-conference research training day. The MSRC pre-conference research training day is to be held Wednesday, March 30th prior to the 2016 American Association of Suicidology (AAS) conference, in Chicago, IL.

Places were available for students or research fellows across levels of training (graduate to post-doctoral). The purpose of the training day is to provide those with an interest in developing their skills as military/Veteran suicide researchers with intensive training to move a specific relevant project forward. A top-notch faculty will provide the didactic sessions and serve as mentors.

In addition to Drs. Gutierrez and Joiner, faculty will include :

  • Dr. Mike Anestis
  • Dr. Courtney Bagge
  • Dr. Craig Bryan
  • Dr. Kate Comtois
  • Dr. Kelly Cukrowicz
  • Dr. Pete Gutierrez
  • Dr. Keith Jennings
  • Dr. Thomas Joiner
  • Dr. LaRicka Wingate

The core features of the Research Training Day Workshop include a) a didactic session including a presentation on grant writing, grants mechanisms, data analysis, and research ethics; b) small group meetings of mentors and fellows to discuss fellows’ grant applications, research papers, and career issues; c) and a networking luncheon.

30 researchers will be attending the training day, selected from institutions across the country and covering a diverse range of specific interests.

Brian Albanese
Florida State University

Brooke Ammerman
Temple University

Brittney Assayed
University of Southern Mississippi

Melanie Bozzay
University of South Florida Sarah

Carter George
Mason University

Ian Cero
Auburn University

Jason Chen
University of South Florida

Carol Chu
Florida State University

Ashley Cole
Oklahoma State University

Samantha Daruwala
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Michael Farjellah
Warrior Resiliency Program/RHC-C, US Army

Jami Gauthier
Auburn University

Courtney Golding
Mississippi State University

Mariam Gregorian
The Catholic University of America

Julia Harris
University of Utah

Elizabeth Henschel
The University of Texas at Austin

Melanie Hom
Florida State University

Claire Houtsma
University of Southern Mississippi

Lauren Khazem
University of Southern Mississippi

Erin Poindexter
Texas Tech University

Elizabeth Price
Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center

Fallon Ringer
Florida State University

Megan Rogers
Florida State University

Caitlin Smith
Oklahoma State University

Kelly Soberly
University of Colorado Denver

Katrina Speed
Mississippi State University

Ian Stanley
Florida State University

Amy Starosta
Rocky Mountain MIRECC for Suicide Prevention

Marcus VanSickle
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth

Danielle Worthington
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences